Pawsitively Patchez

Its Been A While

on September 1, 2014

What happened? Where did the last four months go? I do apologize to my readers, but I have been a beary busy bear. When this bear’s friend is in need of hugs and lov’in I just let everything else drop and I get down to “bear-lovin-huggin” business, and nothing else….. more of that later.

At the close of my last post I referred to the exciting trip I took to the sunny state of California. I traveled by Alaska Airlines to Los Angeles on a lovely sunny day. The flight went by with few hiccups and within minutes of landing I was helping Maggie and Becky choose the perfect rental car. Oh I was so excited about this adventure!!!!!

We chose a lovely black sporty car with four doors. They liked this car because when they measured we were sure that Wayne would fit into it without bumping his head on the roof. Wayne was meeting up later in the adventure.

Maggie sang all kinds of funny songs all the way to Pasadena. She said that in the 70’s it seemed like all the good songs came from California and kept mentioning about some boys that were from a beach. The names of the streets that we drove by reminded her of all the old songs and she did her best to share them with us. Becky was very polite and I am sure Maggie did not see us wincing with the noises she was making.

We checked into our hotel. It was a business hotel so there was serious stuff there. We were on a business trip to IMATs. International Makeup Artist’s Trade Show.

Here are some of the highlights of the things I saw there.

IMG_2015

IMG_2043

IMG_2052

IMG_2068

IMG_2063

IMG_2073

I must say, Makeup Artists are a fun group of people,and beary creative! The Young Blood booth girls shared some wonderful makeup tricks with me, now I can assist Becky when she makes people pretty. And the airbrush man was a little scary at first but he turned out to be beary friendly.I made lots of new friends there! I do hope I can go to the 2015 IMATS and see my creative friends. Even the monsters were fun. They pretended to eat me but I know they were only teasing.

Two days at this Make Up Trade Show was about all I needed. But there is more in Pasadena than the IMATS. :).  Wonderful things like Pasadena’s Huntington Library

The Huntington Library is not a library that you go and check out books from. It is a special place where they have beautiful gardens and keep all the really old books.  You have to have special training to learn how to handle these old books and manuscripts.  You even have to wear gloves when you touch them. They keep all the books locked up in a vault, not just anyone can get in to see them.   Also at this wonderful place is a collection of fine art. I even saw the famous Blue Boy painting and Pinky.  That was beary exciting to me.

While there, we enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea. YES, wonderful sandwiches with the crusts cut off of them, scones with jam, butter and devonshire cream. and lots of lovely tea. Becky, Maggie and I thoroughly enjoyed it.IMG_1968 IMG_1974 IMG_1976 IMG_1995.

But our time in Pasadena came to an end ever too quickly. Off in the car we went, and we spent a whole day visiting my friends in Disneyland.  What  surprise that was for me.  We did not take our camera that day because it was not a picture day, it was a visiting day.

After a good nights sleep and lots of suitcase organizing we headed to the airport for two things. We had to say good bye to Becky as she was flying home, for one thing……and of course Maggie cried.  Then after waiting for a beary long time Wayne arrived and we drove to Palm Springs.  What a treat, I had only heard of this place and Wayne had wanted to see it too,so we were both introduced to this amazing part of the world together.

It was lovely to have spa treatments and to go shopping and relax by the pool.  We soaked for ages in the healing mineral waters in the hot pool by our room.

Maggie kept saying “there is something special in that water in the hot pools, I just know it”! And then she would laugh. I looked and looked but I only saw water. I just do not know what she was talking about.

We met up with some friends from up north and enjoyed at lovely lunch together.

IMG_2135 IMG_2139 IMG_2143 IMG_2150 IMG_2151

Our trip to Palm Springs was very short but very fun. I look forward to going back there some day.

The flight home was not very long. Wayne was sad to leave the nice warm weather behind but Maggie was glad to get home to Becky because Becky had gotten sick and needed some chicken soup and love.

It was quiet around the house for a while, then I decided it was time to get down to see Jenny.  I mentioned it to Becky and Maggie and they decided it was a great idea. So in April I put myself in their suitcase and off we went to Houston Texas. You will never guess who I met there………..stay posted!

Your beary sun-lovin bear,

Patchez.

Leave a Reply

